How big is Vancouver Island?

Since I am now free to spend time on things other then desk work (see: I finished my book), I am looking at Vancouver Island with renewed interest.

We may have been here for almost a year, but it feels like I just got of the boat, and I’m ready to see more.

But, before I go explore, how big is this island anyway?

Not very big it turns out. Here’s what it would look like next to Newfoundland, or next to Holland, or Hawaii:

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 2.48.05 PMScreen Shot 2015-06-15 at 2.47.34 PM Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 2.49.10 PM

Before this year is through, I plan to see the island from top to bottom, and of course share the pictures here 🙂

(the above maps were made with mapfrappe, found here)

4 thoughts on “How big is Vancouver Island?

      1. Wonderful job on the ECT book, Sander. I have a copy and recommend it to all my hiking buddies.

        BTW, a local media person asked me if I know your contact info so that she could do an interview about your book.

        If you’re interested, feel free to let me know and I’ll put you in touch with her.

        1. Hi Ron, I’m glad you like the book and very much appreciate the recommendations to your hiking friends!

          And yes I would like to talk to your contact, so I’m sending you an e-mail with my information.
          Thanks!

Leave a comment